Release of the Third Volume of the Series "The OM Composer's"

Collection Musique/Sciences

This third volume of the OM Composer's book series presents a new collection of essays written by composers describing musical works carried out with the OpenMusic computer-aided composition environment. OpenMusic is a visual programming language dedicated to music composition, designed and developed at IRCAM. It is the result of years of research and compositional experiments, and is now used by numerous contemporary music composers worldwide.

The objective of this book is to provide an overview of the uses and applications of this environment, as well as of computer music systems in a broader sense. Several approaches are described focusing on varied aspects of musical creation and computer-aided composition, ranging from the production rhythmic or harmonic structures to sound processing and synthesis. The book also reveals composers’ thoughts on more general questions such as programming and the role of computer processes in musical creation.

Directed by Jean Bresson, Carlos Agon, Gérard Assayag.
Préface by Roger Dannenberg.

Texts by: Julián Ávila, Philippe Boivin, Federico Bonacossa, Jean Bresson, Luiz Castelões, Fabio De Sanctis De Benedictis, Aaron Einbond, Alireza Farhang, Ambrose Field, Gonçalo Gato, Jean-Luc Hervé, Geof Holbrook, Matthew Lane, Serge Lemouton, Eduardo R. Miranda, Alessandro Ratoci, Marlon Schumacher, Matthew Schumaker, Marco Stroppa, Christopher Trapani, Takéshi Tsuchiya, Julien Vincenot, Anders Vinjar et Michele Zaccagnini.

IRCAM-Centre Pompidou / Delatour France Editors.

Add to cart