Wed 14 September 2016,
Thu 15 September 2016,
7 p.m.
Helsinki Music Center

In Sul Segno in 2004, Yan Maresz gave free reign to his passion for plucked strings that find their full resonant extension in the universe of electronics. Here, Maresz meets the harp again, but as a solo instrument, this time an "augmented" instrument; an instrument physically modified through its coupling with an integrated digital real-time system that exploits the instrument's acoustic radiation without the addition of any loudspeakers.

Nicolas Tulliez Harp
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra
Susanna Mälkki Conductor
Thomas Goepfer IRCAMComputer Music Design
Adrien Mamou-Mani IRCAM Scientific Advisor


Pierre Boulez Livre pour cordes

Yan Maresz Répliques concerto for augmented harp and orchestra, commissioned by Radio France, Françoise and Jean-Philippe Billarant, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg, and the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra

Hector Berlioz La Symphonie fantastique opus 14

  • Orchestre Philharmonique d'Helsinki  © Redit Stefan
    Orchestre Philharmonique d'Helsinki © Redit Stefan
  • Pierre Boulez  © Jean Radel
    Pierre Boulez © Jean Radel