The Sirens Cycle

During the Donaueschingen Musiktage
Sat 15 October 2016,
Sun 16 October 2016,
2 p.m.

The oeuvre of Peter Eötvös is marked by the inherent bond he has established between music and language, as Janáček once did. In his new quartet, he takes advantage of the expressive and "linguistic" power of strings to which he adds a voice. The starting point for Sirens is a short text written by Kafka in 1918 in which the sirens’ fatal weapon is silence. "But Odysseus, if one may so express it, did not hear their silence; he thought they were singing and that he alone did not hear them." Other sirens from Joyce and Homer spring out from behind the quartet: three languages, three speeches for this "chamber opera". 

Audrey Luna Soprano colorature
Calder Quartet
Benjamin Jacobson Violin
Andrew Bulbrook Violin
Jonathan Moerschel Viola
Eric Byers Cello
Serge Lemouton IRCAM Computer Music Design
Serge Lacourt IRCAM Sound engineer


Peter Eötvös The Sirens Cycle
Commissioned by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, of the Tonhalle-Gesellschaft Zürich, the Alte Oper Frankfurt, of the Centro Nacional de Difusión Musical, Madrid, IRCAM-Centre Pompidou, ProQuartet-Centre européen de musique de chamber, and the Südwestrundfunk (Kompositionsauftrag des Südwestrundfunks)
Libretto: James Joyce, Homère, Franz Kafka
For string quartet, soprano and electronics

Nathan Davis Echeia

Daniel Wohl radiance