Grand Soir: Latin America

Fri 5 March 2021,
8:30 p.m.
Cité de la musique

Full : 20 €
Discount Price : 17 €


It's fiesta time at the Philharmonie de Paris, with this "Grand Soirée" devoted to Latin America. A musical continent, where the public will be able to roam around freely, sampling small formats, improvisations, film-concerts, percussion trance, chamber concerts or large ensemble concerts as they wish.

Apart from Latin America, the composers gathered here share a certain French tropism since almost all of them have passed through France. Some of them have passed through the doors of IRCAM itself, such as the Argentinian composer Martin Matalon (whose Las siete vidas de un gato accompanies Buñuel's Chien andalou), the Colombian Luis-Fernando Rizo-Salom (who composed his Trois Manifestes at IRCAM) or the Chilean Roque Rivas (whose Assemblage is the symbiotic of acoustics and electronics).

Samuel Favre percussions
Sébastien Vichard piano
Ensemble intercontemporain
Mariano Chiacchiarini conductor
Grégory Beller, Robin Meier computer music design

Part 1: salle des concerts

Javier Alvarez Temazcal
Luis-Fernando Rizo-Salom Trois Manifestes

Part 2: salle des concerts, Rue musicale, Musée de la musique

Martin Matalon Las siete vidas de un gato
Mauricio Kagel Morceau de concours
Astor Piazzolla Improvisation on Libertango
Oscar Strasnoy Trois Études de latinité
Tania Léon Rituál
Ricardo Nillni Tébah
Michelle Agnes Magalhaes Play and Theory of the Duende
Ana Lara Hacia la Noche

Part 3: salle des concerts

Marisol Jiménez Bestario onirico II – Ciudadela
Lucas Fagin New work, commissioned by the Ensemble intercontemporain, Premiere 2021
Roque Rivas Assemblage

Coproduction Ensemble intercontemporain, Philharmonie de Paris | In partnership with IRCAM-Centre Pompidou.
  • Martin Matalon  © Nicolas Botti
    Martin Matalon © Nicolas Botti
  • Roque Rivas  © Jérémie Garamond
    Roque Rivas © Jérémie Garamond
  • Luis-Fernando Rizo-Salom  © Johanna Salmon
    Luis-Fernando Rizo-Salom © Johanna Salmon